top of page

Awareness amongst young people

Who does meningitis target?

EVERYONE.

However, as Meningitis Now tell us:

After babies and young children, teenagers and young people are the second most at risk group of contracting meningitis and septicaemia.

meningitis young people.jpg

For me, teaching across ages 11-18, this is a frightening prospect. Some of my sixth form students are preparing for their UCAS applications and will be heading off to university in the near future. Head here to read my experience of meningitis whilst at university. The recent news that a student has died from meningitis whilst at university in Manchester makes it all the more important for us to get that vaccine and to raised funds for vital preventitive research to take place. My thoughts in particular go out to this young man's family, who are also from Cornwall.

I have made it my mission to give every single one of my students a meningitis symptoms card- but I've run out! This is amazing and makes me feel more confident that they at least are carrying something that can help them watch out for the signs of meningitis.

The response from the students towards the meningitis marathon project has been overwhelming and I am really proud of the way they have responded to advice about meningitis, asked questions about my experience- and of course some of the fundraising they have been doing for Meningitis Now. (More of that later, that deserves a post in itself).

Anyway, before I disappear for a training run, I sign off with a heart-warming picture- a couple of my students proudly displaying their meningitis wristbands with me. The pink and purple one was the very first band I wore after I had come out of hospital and had started fundraising- a poigniant moment as I embark on this crazy marathon project to pass it on to one of my students.

3d568ae4-ef8d-4e3b-8840-c23ea7c9a549.jpg

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page