top of page

Meningitis at Christmas- Awareness Concert

December is a funny old time of year for my family because I went into hospital at the end of November, and relapsed a couple of days before Christmas Day. I spent the night in West Cornwall hospital who decided not to give me a lumbar puncture as I had had one two weeks previously.

However, I was honoured to be able to speak at a Meningitis Now Christmas carol concert and recount my experience which helped to channel any sombre feelings into good use. I spoke towards the end of the concert which meant that I had to sit through several amazing musical performances feeling a bit nervous! I had prepared prompt cards- I don't usually do any form of public speaking with a script but had some just in case. My biggest concern however was being tall enough to stand in front of the pew!

10247201_10152729622977745_1553795469386538419_n.jpg

Apologies for poor photo quality!

12878_10152725538692745_2759177255003122159_n.jpg

I also had to ring my dad the night before and ask him a few things that I couldn't remember. Obviously my parents were far more aware of what was happening to me than I was in BRI hospital and I got a mit emotional telling the audience about the moment dad was told by the consultant I might die. This was probably because two people very dear to me were sitting at the front! I had to avoid eye contact with them so as to not start blubbing and I couldnt' look at Geri, our London co-ordinator either because she has also been a fab support. What is it about people being nice to you that makes you more sad?!

Anyway, I made it through my speech and met some absolutely wonderful people afterwards- so thank you to everyone who donated, and to Sue for giving me the opportunity to speak! Oh, and Merry Christmas!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page