top of page

Bishop Boys Raise £1000!

As I write this I have a huge smile on my face- in times of hardship we really need an example of kindess, adversity, maturity and resilience. Not giving up just when something gets a little tough, or you can't see the light at the end of the tunnel. The Reach Out charity group at my school have provided me with just that.

Moving to London from Cornwall to teach has been quite a challenge but I have been inspired by the many wonderful students I have been so fortunate to teach. One group of students in particular will be the ones who will get me over that finish line next week- so thank you!

Several Year 11 students asked me about my meningitis story back in October. As part of my role as a Community Ambassador, I offer students advice on spotting meningitis and hand out symptoms cards, but have also been happy to show the students my website and talk about my experience. I have been lucky to attend events at the Houses of Parliament, share my experience of meningitis with HRH Prince Edward and the Countess of Wessex, as well as run the Bath Half, but the charitable effort these students have shown has given me the biggest smile.

They decided as part of their Reach Out programme to fundraise for a charity. They explained they had been inspired by my story and wanted to raise money for meningitis.

In March I found myself watching a thought-provoking and professional presentation by them, explaining what meningitis is, what Meningitis Now does, and how they came to fundraise.

I gave my story and was presented, and absolutely gobsmacked, to recieve a giant cheque on behalf of Meningitis Now for........ £1000! They had been busy caking away, waxing legs and holding a dodge ball tournament.

To have raised that much money on top of revising hard for their GCSEs is amazing. I am confident this particular group of students will succeed at whatever they choose to do in life. Their kindness and sense of humour, maturity and get up and go attitude is something we could all use.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page