top of page

Longest run to date!

My partner in crime and I went for a verrrrry long run today- I did almost 19 miles long the Thames Path and back, and around Greenwich Park. We've previously run the Bath Half for meningitis and raised £700. The Bath Half was nice and flat so it was a great experience in terms of pacing.

I needed some much needed company (not least to manage the crazy Thames Path- one locked gate here- back on the road there!).

I found mile 17 really tough- I suppose that I made the notorious 'hit the wall' moment. I felt really tired and my hamstrings were so tight. I stopped and jogged on the spot for the moment by the Observatory and looked across the city skyline. Somewhere, out there someone would be experiencing the pain and suffering that I went through. I thought about all the support I have had from my loved ones, the enthusiasm and encouragement from my students and friends, and managed to actually run home faster than my first mile!

NB: NOT a good training strategy!

Rounded off a successful run with a movie and a steak. London Marathon, I'm coming for ya!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page